ETD2017 Symposium

Other Resources

ETD2017 Symposium – Exploring Global Connections

ETD2017 Symposium

ETD2017, the 20th international symposium on electronic theses and dissertations will be held August 7 – 9, 2017  at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Washington, D.C. The conference will be hosted by George Mason University with additional support from Washington Research Library Consortium members and co-organized by the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) and the United States Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Association (USETDA).

ETD2017 will provide excellent educational opportunities for professionals from graduate schools, libraries, academic computing and others who work with electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs), institutional repositories, graduate students and scholarly communications. Our goal is to offer relevant, practice-oriented content to support ETD productivity improvement, ETD professionals, advance ETD operations and encourage the formation of regional ETD associations and networking communities, to promote open access in scholarly communications as well as to provide useful and innovative resources, standards, and technology for the development and support of ETD programs.

Background: From 1998 on interested institutions in the United States began meeting annually for what would become a series of symposia on electronic theses and dissertations sponsored by NDLTD and designed to help universities initiate ETD projects. The first ETD Symposium was held in at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (Memphis) in 1998, since then, the annual conferences were hosted at universities all around the world, with the first European venue being Humboldt University in Berlin, in 2003. More recently, ETD Symposia have been held in Sydney, Australia; Aberdeen Scotland, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Cape Town, South Africa; Hong Kong; Austin, Texas; Uppsala, Sweden; Lima, Peru; Leicester, UK and New Delhi, India. ETD2016 was hosted by the University of Lille, France from July 11-13, 2016.

Complete conference information will be available by following the resource links at the top of this Web page or in the right side-bar index.

Important Dates

  • Call for proposals
    • Announcement: December 16, 2016
    • Deadline: February 28, 2017
  • Travel Scholarship Program
    • Application: January 16 – March 31, 2017
    • Notification: April 21, 2017
  • Presenter notifications: April 15, 2017
  • Early bird registration: April 15 – July 1, 2017 **Extended**
  • Regular Registration: July 2 – 14, 2017
  • Conference: August 7 – 9, 2017

ETD2017 Symposium Promotional Video

 USETDA 2017 Conference Planning Committee

  • Scott Eldredge (Brigham Young University Library)^
  • Valerie Emerson – Local Organizing Committee Co-Chair (George Washington University Libraries)
  • Sally Evans – Local Organizing Committee Co-Chair (George Mason University Libraries)*
  • Ramesh C. Gaur (Jawaharlal Nehru University Libraries)^
  • John Hagen (Renaissance Scholarly Communications)*
  • Lou Haines, Co-Chair (Miami University Graduate School)*
  • Matt Mariner, Program Committee Chair (University of Colorado Denver – Auraria Library)*
  • Angela McCutcheon (USETDA Ex-Officio Board member)*
  • James MacDonald (University of Northern British Columbia Library)^
  • Robert Parker (USETDA Ex-Officio Board member)*
  • Christy Shorey (University of Florida Libraries)*
  • Stacy Wallace (University of Florida Graduate School)*

*USETDA Board Member
^NDLTD Board Member

Local Organizing Committee Members

  • Christopher Anglim (The University of the District of Columbia Libraries)
  • Emily Cole (George Mason University Libraries)
  • Suzanne Chase (Georgetown University Libraries)
  • Christal Ferrance (George Mason University Libraries)
  • Kimberly Hoffman (George Mason University Libraries)
  • Sarah Holland (Marymount University Library)
  • Maoria Kirker (George Mason University Libraries)
  • Wendy Mann (George Mason University Libraries)
  • Stacey Marien (American University Library)
  • Terry Owen (University of Maryland Libraries)
  • Jean Pec (The George Washington University Libraries)
  • Jen Stevens (George Mason University Libraries)
  • Amy Sullivan (George Mason University Libraries)
  • John Warren (George Mason University Libraries)


HistoryQuest DC –  An interactive GIS map stuffed with info on some 127,000 buildings in the District

Washington DC Office of Tourism

Contact Us

ETD2017 logo image courtesy of OpenClipArt (CC0 public domain).